top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamar (aka Adore a Bowl)

London Calling

Updated: Mar 22, 2020

Exploring the best of London, one trip at a time.



I started going to London to visit my family in my early twenties. Back then, it was my first stop, where I'd drop my bags and chill for a week or two before I left to explore mainland Europe. Now I go to London a few times a year for work. Sometimes I dine alone at a counter or bar seat, and other times I reconnect with my lovely London-based crew of friends and colleagues. Regardless of my intention, it has always been my home away from home, a second city I can navigate and love exploring.

“Honestly, I go here when I'm having a bad day and just want to stare at some gems.”

Here is a laundry list of my favorite restaurants, pubs, markets, and museums. It's constantly evolving, so I promise to tidy it up with every trip ;)


Restaurants:

Covent Garden:

  • Frenchie - My favorite spot in London, I book a table here every time, and they always manage to blow my mind. They have a lovely seasonal menu and their somm has out of this world wine pairings.

  • La Goccia - Farm to table vibes in a beautiful setting. Lots of small plates and shared options, an excellent option for a good group of friends to enjoy a beautiful meal.

  • Balthazar - Brasserie, picture big red booths and epic seafood towers. Also great for groups.

Charing Cross/Temple:

  • Barrafina - Near Charing Cross. Michelin starred tapas, need I say more...

  • Spring - I mean if the pale pink interior in the iconic Somerset House doesn't make you swoon, just wait for the farm-to-table food and wine. Gorgeous setting and even better food. The newest gem to make the cut :)

Mayfair/Marylebone:

  • Chiltern Firehouse - Love this place for brunch. The garden has a great atmosphere and is an excellent perch for people watching.

  • Gymkhana - Michelin starred Indian food, grabbing a table at this coveted spot can be tricky. So I also suggest Trishna (see below).

  • Trishna (Marylebone) - Indian coastal cuisine. I'm not a big meat-eater, so I often have to navigate tasting menus with special requests, subbing out meat dishes with seafood or vegetarian options, when possible. My colleague introduced me to this restaurant, and I was so surprised that I could eat everything on the tasting menu. It was delicious and the staff was so attentive to our needs. Also, their reccs were on point!

  • Wild Honey - Small modern European fare. The savory courses are excellent, but please do yourself a favor and save room for dessert. It's unbelievable and definitely worth it!

  • Sabor - Michelin starred Spanish tapas. Multiple stories with a different dining experience in each.

West London: AKA where all the posh kids are at.

  • Michelin Building: Oysters at Bibendum Restaurant (downstairs), near South Kensington tube. Really adorable shops nearby and very swanky dinner (upstairs).

  • Windsor Castle - cute pub! Has nice food too!

  • Poule Au Pot - Amazing French Food in Sloane Square, posh area with great shopping nearby too.

Hackney/East London: AKA where all the cool kids are at. Redchurch street has amazing shopping, coffee shops, pubs and restaurants.

  • Owl and Pussycat is a good start to the evening, for a quick drink in a nice pub.

  • Clove Club - Amazing restaurant in Shoreditch. I get the tasting menu at the bar. It has a few less courses and is a great opportunity to interact with the servers and other patrons.

Pubs:


High Tea: I mean when in London, right...

  • The Wolseley is in a beautiful building with great food. Try for a reservation - it gets booked really quick.

  • Fortum and Mason really posh and gorgeous tiffany blue interior. They have a fantastic selection of teas, jams and foodstuffs to purchase as well. Behind the store is German St. with a treasure-trove of bespoke shoes, shirts, jackets, etc.

Markets: Go hungry

  • Portobello in Notting Hill/West London on Fridays, has tons of cute pubs/boutiques along the way.

  • Borough in South London, open Friday-Sunday, amazing produce and food selection.

  • Spitafields in East London, open on Thursdays near Liverpool Street station.

  • Columbia Flower Market in Hackney, open on Sunday.

  • Broadway in Hackney, open on Saturday.

  • Brick Lane in East London, open on Sunday. Great food, clothing, and hipster vibes.


Museums: Most are free and expertly curated. Some are open late on specifics evenings too.

  • Tate Modern - one of my favorite modern art museums.

  • National Gallery - in the city center near Picadilly Circus.

  • Saatchi Gallery - in West London near Sloane Street Station, tons of great shopping nearby too. Just a warning, it can close for private events, so check the website before you go.

  • V&A - I honestly go here when I have a bad day and want to stare at some gems. They have some great exhibits, but remember to book tickets in advance.

  • British Museum - Rosetta stone and awesome pieces of art "acquired" from other countries.



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page