top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamar (aka Adore a Bowl)

Chasing the Buzz - Coffee in Tokyo

Where do they serve coffee before 10am? The quest for amazing coffee while in the grasp of a jet lag monster.



I decided to travel to Japan for 20 days this past summer. I arrived a few days before my friends, and was swept out of a subway station by a thousands of commuters heading home from work. When I emerged at my exit in Shibuya, I looked up at an endless set of escalators in all axes, like an Escher painting coming to life.


“...I looked up to at an endless set of escalators in all axes, like an Escher painting coming to life. ”

When I finally settled into my hotel room, I crashed. I woke up at the crack of dawn desperately needing some food and coffee.





Don't worry, good coffee is easy to find, it just may not be open until 10am:


Firstly, this website (https://en.goodcoffee.me/) saved my life, not only does it have a wealth of information on Coffee shops, it also provides information on opening hours, ambience, and whether or not they have food.


List of favorites per neighborhood:


Shibuya: iconic neon lights, crosswalk and apparently a subway station filled with Escher-like escalators.

  • Fuglen - adorable mid century modern design, good breakfast options too and really beautiful location not too far from Yoyogi Park

  • Tokyo Kenko - One of the best breakfast set menus I had while in Japan. Yes they serve eggs, and yes they are open before 10am.

  • Roastery by Nozy - super cute neighborhood close to harajuku

  • About Life Coffee Brewers - coffee stand with excellent espresso, lattes, and pour over coffee.

Ginza: luxury shopping and lots of restaurants, bars, and coffee options.

Harajuku: Verrrry touristy but with loads of interesting people watching.

  • Roastery by Nozy - bonus it's in a super cute and quieter neighborhood adjacent to Harajuku.

Shimokita: An adorable neighborhood filled with vintage stores, record shops and amazing coffee.

  • Bear Pond Espresso

  • Oto Coffee Stand

  • Flippers pancakes is also awesome if you want to try the iconic souffle pancakes


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page